Sister Inmate

SISTER INMATE is a Los Angeles-Based non-profit that supports the

victims affected by incarceration; not by choice, but by affiliation.

“If

you’re doing something and a bump in the road comes up, you can look at

it like, ‘I don’t want to deal with it. Why do I deserve this?’ Or you

can be like, ‘This is great! This is a challenge and I’m going to see

what I can make of it.’ I’m going to honor it, respect that it’s in my

life, trust in the universe and go with it. Instead of seeing them as

bad things that have happened to you, flip them into life learning

lessons and learn to grow from them. That’s what life’s about. It’s a

lot of mind work. The bumps in the road will never go away.”

-Founder of Sister Inmate


“Not

everything works out for me– I get a ton of noes. I don’t see

everything as failure. I thought that door was supposed to be open, and

the universe is telling me that’s not the door to go through.”

-Founder of Sister Inmate


“I love the fashion world, but it’s very materialistic and there’s a

side to it that I don’t like as well. And so, when I finally reached out

to the Sheriff’s department to say ‘This is who I am. This is my story.

I want to volunteer. Give me a toothbrush and I’ll clean in the jail

cell– I don’t care, I just want to help. I don’t know how but please

let me come help’.

They normally don’t just let individuals come in and volunteer but they said ‘We have an orientation. It’s an all day thing. Come. We’ll sit with you and figure out how you can contribute.’

So I go to this orientation and it’s basically an orientation that

teaches you how to be a teacher. And I’m sitting there going like ‘I was

the girl in class that would never raise my hand to answer a question.

Back then I’d get so nervous if I had to talk in front of somebody’

So now I’m thinking ‘What the heck am I doing here?’

It took me about two years to come to the acceptance of that’s what I

was going to do. And again, life will put you in situations where you

eventually realize why you’re there.”

-Founder of Sister Inmate


“The

other day I had a dream that I was in an airport. When you’re in an

airport, that represents coming and going– a transitional phase. That’s

where I am in life. I’m still working part-time in the business

management world, and I know that Sister Inmate is where I want to go,

but I’m still figuring it out. For me, it was a message to myself that

I’m on the right path. You don’t necessarily have to figure out the

‘how’ if you keep knocking on doors and opportunities. If you keep doing

the work, it kind of reveals itself sometimes.”

-Founder of Sister Inmate

Learn more about Sister Inmate at http://www.sisterinmate.com/home

Leave a Reply

